About CSPB

Western Region
Eastern Region
CSPB/SCBV Bulletin

Documents & Forms
Contact us

Grads & Postdocs
Science Policy

Global Plant Council


search CSPB/SCBV only

The Ragai Ibrahim Award
Le Prix Ragai Ibrahim

The Ragai Ibrahim Award Fund was established by CSPB-SCBV through a generous donation from Professor Ragai Ibrahim, eminent Canadian plant scientist and an emeritus member of the CSPP-SCPV. The purpose of the award is to recognize excellence in publication by graduate students. There is one award per year.

Professor Ibrahim is a long-time faculty member at Concordia University, where he is currently Distinguished Professor Emeritus. He has made numerous outstanding contributions to the understanding of plant flavonoid biochemistry. In recognition of his body of work he was awarded the CSPB-SCBV Society Medal (the "Gold Medal") in 2004. Highlights of his career were published in an invited review: Ibrahim RK (2005) A forty-year journey in plant research: original contributions to flavonoid biochemistry. Canadian Journal of Botany 83:433-450.

Le Prix Ragai Ibrahim a été créé par la CSPB/SCBV en 2006 grâce à un généreux don du Professeur Ragai Ibrahim, éminent scientifique canadien dans le domaine végétal et membre émérite de la CSPP/SCPV. Le but de ce prix est de reconnaître l'excellence des publications des étudiants de 2ème et 3ème cycles. Un prix est attribué par année.

Professeur Ibrahim est un membre de longue date du corps professoral de l'Université Concordia, où il est actuellement professeur distingué émérite. Il contribua remarquablement à la compréhension de la biochimie des flavonoïdes chez les végétaux. En reconnaissance de son oeuvre, la CSPP-SCPV lui décerna la Médaille de la Société («Médaille d'or») en 2004. Les faits saillants de sa carrière furent publiés dans une revue invitée: Ibrahim RK (2005) A forty-year journey in plant research: original contributions to flavonoid biochemistry. Canadian Journal of Botany 83:433-450.>

Ragai Ibrahim (left) at the 2005 Plant Canada conference in Edmonton, receiving his Society Medal from outgoing President Deep Saini (centre) and incoming President Robert Guy (right).
Ragai Ibrahim (à gauche) recevant la Médaille dela Société du président sortant Deep Saini (centre) et du nouveau président Robert Guy (à droite) lors du congrès Plant Canada 2005 qui s'est tenu à Edmonton.

Ibrahim Award Winners/Les lauréats Ibrahim
    2006 - Amanda Rochon, Brock University
    Rochon A, Boyle P, Wignes T, Fobert PR, Després C (2006) The coactivator function of Arabidopsis NPR1 requires the core of its BTB/POZ domain and the oxidation of C-terminal cysteines. The Plant Cell 18:3670-3685.

    2007 - Sam Gennidakis, Queen's University
    Gennidakis S, Rao S, Greenham K, Uhrig RG, O'Leary B, Snedden WA, Lu C, Plaxton WC (2007) Bacterial- and plant-type phosphoenol-pyruvate carboxylase polypeptides interact in the hetero-oligomeric Class-2 PEPC complex of developing castor oil seeds. Plant Journal 52:839-849.

    2008 - James Uniacke, Concordia University
    Uniacke J, Zerges W (2008) Stress induces the assembly of RNA granules in the chloroplast of Chlamydomonas reinhardtii. Journal of Cell Biology 182:641-646.

    2009 - Patrick Boyle, Brock University
    Boyle P, Le Su E, Rochon A, Shearer HL, Murmu J, Chu JY, Fobert PR, Després C (2009) The BTB/POZ domain of the Arabidopsis disease resistance protein NPR1 interacts with the repression domain of TGA2 to negate its function. The Plant Cell 21:3700-3713.

    2010 - Laurent Cappadocia, Université de Montréal
    Cappadocia L, Maréchal A, Parent J-S, Lepage É, Sygusch J, Brisson N (2010) Crystal structures of DNA-Whirly complexes and their role in Arabidopsis organelle genome repair. The Plant Cell 22:1849-1867.

    2011 - Glen Uhrig, University of Calgary
    R. Glen Uhrig and Greg B. Moorhead (2011) Two Ancient Bacterial-like PPP Family Phosphatases from Arabidopsis Are Highly Conserved Plant Proteins that Possess Unique Properties. Plant Physiology 157: 1778-1792.

    2011 (honourable mention) - Lenka Plavcová, University of Alberta
    Lenka Plavcová and Uwe G. Hacke (2011) Heterogeneous distribution of pectin epitopes and calcium in different pit types of four angiosperm species. New Phytologist 192: 885-897.

    2012 - YUE (Alex) WU, Brock University
    Y. Wu, D. Zhang, J. Y. Chu, P. Boyle, Y. Wang, I. D. Brindle, V. De Luca, C. Després (2012) The Arabidopsis NPR1 Protein Is a Receptor for the Plant Defense Hormone Salicylic Acid. Cell Reports 1:639-647

    2012 (honourable mention) - SHIU (Terry) CHUNG LUNG, University of Waterloo
    S. C. Lung & Simon D.X. Chuong (2012) A Transit Peptide-Like Sorting Signal at the C Terminus Directs the Bienertia sinuspersici Preprotein Receptor Toc159 to the Chloroplast Outer Membrane. Plant Cell 24:1560-1578

Canadian Journal of Botany Plant Canada NRC Research Press

© Canadian Society of Plant Biologists ::: Disclaimer/Avertissement


Corporate Members

Hoskin Scientific

Vital Volunteers